Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Alaska's Troop 49 is a Powerhouse

As part of the 100th Anniversary Celebration for Girl Scouts of the USA, the first honorary troop will be established in the 49th State.

Alaska's Juneau Empire reports that Inaugural Members of Honorary Troop 49 will include Senators Bettye Davis, Linda Menard, Lesil McGuire and Cathy Giessel, Representatives Anna Fairclough, Berta Gardner, Sharon Cissna, Lindsey Holmes, Mia Costello, Beth Kerttula, Charisse Millett, Cathy Muñoz, Peggy Wilson and Tammy Wilson, Commissioners Susan Bell, Cora Campbell and Becky Hultberg, as well as, First Lady Sandy Parnell.

Senator Bettye Davis and Representative Anna Fairclough will serve as co-chairs for Troop 49. Alaskan Girl Scout Leaders say the Alaska’s female lawmakers are powerful role models for girls and young ladies all around the state.

Did you know that 80 percent of American female executives and business owners as well as two-thirds of female members of Congress are former Girl Scouts?